Home > Silent Tours > Way of the Say What??

Way of the Say What??

He stood there, feeling out of place and out of time, as if the gears of the universe suddenly decided to malfunction. His nose tingled, as if tears were forming an oasis in the forsaken desert right behind his sad, unattractive eyes. His knees gave way, trembling. How could he ever see the good in so much bad? How could he overcome this uninvited endeavor already judged as a failure. How could anyone sustain faith amidst utter hopelessness? There was no question of a second chance; suicide did not seem so distant anymore.

Yes, I experienced those feelings not long ago when I bought Way of the Samurai 3 on PS3. What I usually do is visit two or three gaming websites for detailed review plus the video clips. Naturally, this would give me the confidence knowing that my KD. 18 ~ 20 is worth dumping. Yet, at times I break the practice by venturing into a little game of luck. Before I go into telling you what I felt further, it is imperative that you know the Why before the How. I got this particular game for one important reason:

  1. It’s got to do with Samurai. Who doesn’t love Samurai stuff or at least think they’re interesting?
  2. The graphics in the introย is superb. This is where most of us are fooled.
  3. I had just finished Uncharted 2, and wanted another RPG that mimicked the same plotย with a completely different culture.
  4. I had KD. 25 on me
  5. It was the last piece in the store. Which led me to think it must be an “FMCG”.

FMCG: Fast-Moving Consumer Goods. Mainly associated with food industries, i.e. Nestle, Unilever, MasterFoods. But I took the liberty to use it in this context just because it works well in describing the nature of the product. I might as well outdo myself by coining the term Fast-Moving Console Games, for the sake of those uptight, politically-correct maniacs who give a damn about terminology.

Upon arrival to my crib, I couldn’t help but rush into the driveway, raced myself to my place, and without having to wash my hands or change my clothes, I switched on that Playful piece of a Station of the 3rd generation and threw in WOTS3. The graphics pulled me deeper into the setting of 15th century Japan, where suddenly Lord Nobunaga, Shingen, Kenshin and others were, in my mind, sitting right there next to me to watch me play. As the prologue finished, tiny little creatures of doubt & suspicion were crawling up my leg and onto my back, got into my ears and into my brain and made me fidget.

Seeing this, sitting up straight, Lord Nobunaga said (in Japanese….of course), “I sense your discomfort. Explain at once.” I jumped, my thoughts racing to find an answer but failed. “Oi!! Nani-o shiteru??” he exclaimed (try to understand what he said from the context, dear reader) — This was it; the situation was tight, and I couldn’t escape it.
But I understood the dimensions of the dilemma; here I was with expectations set too high when the reality bar was juuuust touching my toe nail.. I was devastated.

Graphics sucked. Controls sucked more. Camera sucked to the power of 10. I honestly didn’t know at that point which sucked more: the game or me buying it. But if I were a graphic designer, or an animator, or a videogame developer, I sure as hell would have objected to the foul imagination applied to developing a game nearly 10 years into the millenium, which is saying a lot.

Oh well… I guess you can’t win them all, eh? Anyway… hate the developer, not the game.

Categories: Silent Tours
  1. Miss Good Egg
    January 10, 2010 at 9:24 am

    lol, I bought this game on a whim and then returned it the next day before even opening the casing to exchange it for something else. I researched it online after buying it and the hits weren’t so great :/

    Muramasa: The Demon Blade on the wii is an absolutely MUST ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. January 10, 2010 at 11:00 am

    You should’ve said something on your blog, MGE!! I can’t believe how game developers still stink at doing their job when they know full well what the market standards are! And I sold my Wii to my sister. I never keep stuff I know I won’t use that often ๐Ÿ™‚ But I’ll check it out on YouTube!

  3. Miss Good Egg
    January 11, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Hehe, never crossed my mind to review it since I didn’t play it ๐Ÿ˜‰ By the way, Uncharted 2 was soooooo good I went and bought Uncharted 1 ๐Ÿ˜€
    As for Muramasa, it is DEFINITELY worth checking out. It’s one of the best made games for the wii with no exaggeration.

  4. January 11, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    I think I have a streak of bad luck going on here ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 feels like a low-budget 1980’s movie. I wish I had Mario on PS3! Isn’t there a game out there like that? Light and funny rather than dark and stupid? It seems you know your way around those games.. help your brotha out, sista!!! lol!!!

  5. Miss Good Egg
    January 12, 2010 at 8:29 am

    “Light & Funny” is kinda hard to find on a console such as the PS3 hehe. I believe that’s what Nintendo specializes in ๐Ÿ™‚

    The closest you could get is Little Big Planet. It’s an interesting adventure game (and very light) that allows you to use your creativity. It doesn’t really have a genre of its own.

    http://www.amazon.com/LittleBigPlanet-Game-Year-Playstation-3/dp/B002ELCUUG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=videogames&qid=1263273492&sr=1-1

    I also heard a game called “Flower” is very popular. You will find it in the market on the PS3 so you will have to download it.

    http://www.amazon.com/Flower-Online-Game-Code-Playstation-3/dp/B002GP6WAE/ref=sr_1_17?ie=UTF8&s=videogames&qid=1263273508&sr=1-17

    The new Mario Bros game on Wii allows you to play up to 4 players, maybe you should play with your sis ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s a great game!

    And this is Muramasa: The Demon Blade, the one I told you about. The graphics are stunning and the story is very deep and poetic.

    Hope that was helpful.

  6. Miss Good Egg
    January 12, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Oh and if you happen to have backward compatibility on your PS3, you could try out Harvest Moon PS2 or any PS2 or PS1 game for that matter ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. January 12, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    N I C E !
    I’ll give it a try and let you know ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

