Home > Silent Laughs > On Fellow Bloggers…

On Fellow Bloggers…

Today I’m going to bring to your attention, dear readers, something I noticed about a fellow blogger whom I respect and admire. She’s the one and only Miss Good Egg of the Storm in Tea Cup blog. Miss Good Egg, hereinafter referred to as MGE, is a girl who’s acutely aware of her surroundings. Now, what got my attention was some of the lingo used by MGE and Sarah Jessica Parker, which more or less had the same taste, though not necessarily word-for-word.

I was very fond of Parker’s use of language in Sex and the City, which was witty, articulate, savvy, & skeptical, all with a pinch of sarcasm that would not escape the trained ear. It’s the way she used specific words that would courageously construct a well-balanced sentence; it just makes you want to be a writer.
At times, I believe Desperate Housewives uses the same type of lingo used by Sex and the City, albeit less humorous and a lot eerier. Fact of the matter is I like intellectually stimulating sentences that uniquely describe an event or situation that has nothing unique about it.

Now, some may consider Parker a little too gay to admire; by gay I mean eccentric and un-natural. But we’re not talking about acting or physical appearance, are we? No. I’m talking about how she developed a unique style of speech (through Sex and the City?) that resonates even in movies like Failure to Launch with Matthew McConaughey. Especially the scene where they got trapped in the room (or whatever it was) and had to talk things out. Not gonna ruin it for you if you haven’t watched that movie! But go ahead and watch it, and listen carefully to what Paula (Parker) says right after Tripp (McConaughey) asks her if she has real feelings.

Now back to Miss Good Egg. I came to know that she’s an English Literature graduate who’s also a bookworm. And a lot of us are (cheers!). Through reading her articles and different expressions amidst the ups and downs of her blog-life, to which many of us observe rather closely,  I came to realize that her sense of lingo is not very far from Carrie Bradshaw’s (Parker in Sex and the City). MGE’s words may have that witty yet very sarcastic tone to them at times, and at other times she just sounds faded.. again very loyal to Bradshaw’s. Or she may just sound breezy and cheerful.
But it’s really her choice of words that I’m very interested in. It’s how sometimes she describes the feeling of being stagnant with a strong sense of cynicism; I guess she knows, just like Carrie Bradshaw, what it means to be stuck in the middle. She says she is, and I choose to believe it.
I often find myself visiting her blog while having Dictionary.com open on another tab, for the particularly interesting terminology that she uses here and there. So if you’re like me and you like the intellectually stimulating writing, look no further. She’s a good egg (the Easter Bunny is not on her friend’s list, though…I checked.)

As it is, she’s taken a vacation from blogging while the lot of us are waiting for a good comeback. Here’s to the Good Egg! (Clink!)

Categories: Silent Laughs
  1. Miss Good Egg
    August 5, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    That was soooo sweet Shmoo. Thanks :’) lol Had to post a RE on that 😛

    • August 5, 2010 at 2:36 pm

      It’s such a pleasure that you liked it!! But honestly I just HAD to write something on you after the resemblance between you and Bradshaw hit me flat on the face! lol 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

