Home > Silent Tours > Irony in the Flesh

Irony in the Flesh

A stray walk into Mothercare proved to be a surprise waiting to be discovered.

There it was: a bassinet, or a “basket”, lying there in the middle of the showroom, named Moses Basket. At first I thought it was weird. Then I thought it was awkward. Then I felt a little uneasy. Then I felt funny with a hint of sarcasm. The reality of the matter is this: Moses’ basket is being sold at “Mothercare”. If this isn’t ironic, I don’t know what is. And for 30-cheap-KD’s only… considering the historic, religious as well as cultural significance of this basket. Is it the same basket that went down the Nile river and into the royal family’s hands? I certainly couldn’t tell. But I didΒ  feel like crying and said a silent prayer to our beloved prophet Moses (pbuh).

I understand why they’d choose that name for a basket, or bassinet, but couldn’t they have avoided going religious just to stay politically correct? You all know how sensitive people are when it comes to religion, and I mean all three of them! Is this acceptable? I certainly don’t like the idea, since it opens doors to relating commercial products to revered religious icons.

What’s next? Moses Cane for the elderly?

Categories: Silent Tours
  1. Perdy
    August 18, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Shmoo-san, I have no words actually!

    But what I can say is, ‘Pay no head to the object under question.’. Let lying bassinets lye!

    Its emotional feelings like these that may or may not cause problems.

    This “name” also affects me in terms of my religion, but I have to admit, I feel it bears quite a resemblance to what “I” feel his bassinet might have looked like. So, if I may, its almost like a kind of peek into the past, but mostly a reminder of our prophets of old & what they stood for.

    So, don’t think much of it. Whats in a name!!
    Remember, your thoughts, reactions & actions are what differ you from everyone else.

    • August 19, 2010 at 10:57 am

      Hmmmm.. Perdy, I still think some rules and regulations when it comes to names are vital. This opens doors for people to name pets after prophets. It’s why in this part of the world, you can’t include a prophet’s name in a joke and get away with it. Rules are meant to keep things in a certain order. And so the moment we say “what’s in a name!” and laugh about it, we might as well say goodbye to respecting that which is holy to us… eventually.

      I think whatever our religion tells us is holy, we should maintain the same and pass on the torch, so to speak. So I think there’s A LOT in a name! At least let’s keep the holy ones away from corporate use and abuse πŸ™‚

  2. Miss Good Egg
    August 18, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    lol chalim. Cute despite its weird name.

    • August 19, 2010 at 11:01 am

      hahahahaha.. you girls just can’t help it, can you? πŸ˜€

  3. Bader
    August 20, 2010 at 12:51 am

    This thing won’t last a minute in the Nile River πŸ™‚

    No but really, there should be rules against this type of thing.

    • August 20, 2010 at 2:20 pm

      Glad you agree, bro! And lol at your remark.. I didn’t really think about how long it would last in the Nile πŸ˜€

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

