Home > Silent Mood > From Pile to File

From Pile to File

Spending a full day at work during a weekend just to engineer a filing system that works for me was not totally in vain. Though I still have a long way to go to get the system in place, yet I’m happy I know where I’m going with this. I used to have piles upon piles, but, as dear Mr. Chandra (my former Senior Deputy GM) has taught me: “If you don’t know whether the paper in your hand should be acted upon, filed or trashed, just keep it in a drawer and let time take care of it.” Most of the time his words were proven to be absolutely correct. I was amazed to see that at least 40% of my pile were taken care of by time! I tried to prove his theory wrong one time by taking a paper that I wasn’t sure what to do with to my manager for advice, and got myself in trouble I would have loved to live without. For that reason, yes, the filing system does include a Drawer of Time, where time magically takes care of those nasty, needy and obnoxious documents that keep staring at me in the face every day at work.

After doing a little search, I realized there are more than 15 ways to a filing system. Some systems are alphabetical, some are numerical, some are topical, some are abbreviated coding, indexing, etc. And it appears that the best filing method for anyone depends a lot on the sort of person you are. Surprise, surprise. Some people are number-oriented, some are topically-oriented, some are alphabetically, so on and so forth. But what really bugged me was the fact that what I have in the office now is thousands upon thousands of files and documents that have already been filed according to numbers. So how to extract these files and re-arrange them by the new alpha-numeric system is way beyond me.

Is this the first step in a  journey of a thousand miles? Or is it the first step in learning to abide by the rule “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it“? It would take months until I’m done. Including weekends. Sometimes I question whether the company deserves that I spend so much of my personal time for its sake; And sometimes I think it’s got to do with me and what marks I leave behind. Oh heck, I’ll do it for my sake. At the end, ask not what your company can do for you, it’s what you can do for yourself to justify why the company hired you in the first place!

Categories: Silent Mood
  1. Bader
    August 22, 2010 at 2:01 am

    Hard work pays off. Even if the company doesn’t deserve it, always remember one thing, If this helps you make things easier for yourself at work, then it’s worth because, well, you’re making things easier for you at work.

    • August 22, 2010 at 1:22 pm

      I’m sure it will pay off. Problem is in such a volatile market, as far as the private sector is concerned, one starts to doubt whether he or she should embark on a journey of revamping the work space before making sure they’re not on the “expendables” list. I happen to be a rebel when it comes to Lower Management vs. Higher Management 🙂

      I understand what you’re saying, Bader.. but I think there’s more to it than just making my work easier, since it’ll take months of tedious work and chunks of personal time to make this happen. Do you know of a system that may be useful? Most systems online are asking me to pay… which isn’t gonna happen.

  2. Miss Good Egg
    August 23, 2010 at 12:06 am

    I already paid for the system and got knocked out by the abominable snowmen & hideous snakes.

    I am looking forward for the last day when I get to hit the ultimate DELETE button and watch it all dissolve.

    Best of luck Shmoo 🙂

    • August 23, 2010 at 9:27 am

      Snowmen? I thought they were all scarecrows! Ya know.. tough-looking on the outside, shallow on the inside.

      Forget the delete button… get an iron baseball bat and smash the hell out of the wicked thing!

      Same luck to you 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

