Home > Silent Strokes > Sketchin’

Sketchin’

It’s been a while since I used Photoshop for sketching. There’s just not enough time anymore for anything; too busy with work or family, which leaves no room for good old sketching, painting or even watching movies. Eh.. you know what people say:

When you’re a kid, you have all the energy and time to do everything but no money to do anything. When you’re at the peak of your youth you got both energy as well as money, but no time to do anything. And when you’re old and grey, you got loads of money and all the time in the world, but no energy to do anything.

It’s kind of scary to think how true that is. To know that you’re at a stage in your life where you don’t have time to attend to the important things, to family, health and..well..sketching! So when I found that I have a couple of minutes of free time in addition to a good mood to sketch, I decided to do just that. So here it is, and I’m only showing you guys a step-by-step simple sketch of a character I made for a comic book I’m working on. It’s a little random, but it works for me. I haven’t found a name for him yet, so I’m open to suggestions 🙂

So I start off with the head, a simple upside-down egg-shaped head, and I just gave him an indifferent look on his face, since that’s what the character is like in the comic book. He’s really a caring person, but sort of an ignorant jerk when it comes to making a decision.

I think you just have to imagine how he’s sitting or posing, here I just imagined him sitting down with a light saber before him. But you all know how it is with sketching, you start with something and end up with something completely different.

Of course I had to change the legs a lot. It’s only natural that I don’t get it right the first time.

He’s got to look a little funny, right? I don’t see him having well-trimmed hair, or even bald. Messy and long serves his character right!

Details add incredible depth to the sketch. Some say don’t sweat the small stuff.. except in drawing. The more detailed, the better.

Quick loose coloring will just tell me the direction of the character in terms of aggressiveness, or maybe his racial background. So I thought this guy is of unknown origins 😀

Adding some Jeans texture to his denim pants. I took that from the net and played around with it a little, to give it a little ‘realness’. Not sure if it worked…

Remember the light saber? Well.. now it’s graffiti. I just thought he didn’t look a like a guy who’d carry a sword around, and if he did, he’d be too chicken to use it. So I just wrote sketch graffiti style…

And here it is with 3D dimension. Hope you enjoyed it and there’s more where that came from 😉

Categories: Silent Strokes
  1. Miss Good Egg
    August 25, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    I was sort of waiting for the moment when your art would pop up on your blog! Way TO GO!!! 😀 Pretty flawless as usual mashallah!

    • August 26, 2010 at 1:43 am

      I did NOT know you beat me to a sketch first! Yours is awesome and I totally loved it! But thank you for your kind words, and you’re definitely giving me the push to sketch more 😉 Thanks, Egg!

  2. DG
    August 26, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Yay! Your drawing looks so life- like masha’allah; i urge you to expand further!

    And now I’m trying to think of a name for him; when i do you’ll be the first to know:p

    • August 26, 2010 at 1:49 pm

      DG, please do think of a name because I can’t seem to think of one myself! At a certain stage I was thinking I’ll name him after me.. Shmoo. But then I thought the name’s too randomly stupid even for this character 😀

      Thanks for the comment!!

  3. Bader
    August 26, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Amazing work man. If I had talent like that I would sketch all the time. Sketching something at a high level like this only shows the level of passion you have towards it. Never stop and find time to express yourself since you are so passionate about it.

    To mean to pressure you but we have expectations now so keep em coming

    • August 26, 2010 at 1:45 pm

      Thanks a bunch, bro! I will keep them coming for sure, inshallah, as long as you guys keep the pressure on 😉 Thanks again for your kind words, Bader!

  4. Bader
    August 26, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    Typo: Don’t mean to pressure you but we have expectations now so keep em coming

  5. DG
    August 26, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    Can it be a regular name or does he have to have like a “superhero-ish” name?

    • August 26, 2010 at 2:27 pm

      Well ultimately it has to be a name that can be pronounced easily, since in the comic it’ll be repeated a lot. But whatever anybody can come up with, it’s more than welcome, indeed 🙂

  6. DG
    August 27, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Okay um, he shall be named “Street-Wise” :p

    he’s got all the street smarts and has experienced the “tough life”, and that’s why I chose such a name:p

    • August 30, 2010 at 10:25 am

      DG, I see why you thought of that name 🙂 You definitely have a point, and it will be considered! Thanks!

  7. Bader
    August 28, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    Stickz,
    Fro,
    or Shamoo,
    Just a thought 🙂

    • August 30, 2010 at 10:27 am

      Stickz? Hmm..that does seem like a name that will “stick” 🙂 Thanks for chipping in 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

