Home > Silent Strokes > Samurai Shmoo!

Samurai Shmoo!

Hear ye, hear ye!

Beloved people, today I’d like to share with you a thing or two about painting and the importance of shadowing. You know, drawing itself is nothing compared to painting. Painting, or coloring, is what makes a drawing stand out or die out! So I sketched myself (again!) in a Samurai uniform, looking all happy and bald. The reason why I’m happy in the sketch is because I never got to wear a Samurai’s uniform before! And this is why art is vital; it makes you do things you normally wouldn’t do in your everyday life. It is worthy of mentioning that I am bald now, as in the sketch, but stopped smiling.

Anyway, enough of that, let’s focus on the sketch. Simple, clean, black outline. I almost NEVER sketch like that, where I make clean outlines and clear borders. I like it messy and sketchy ; ) But for the purpose of THIS post, I decided to go ahead and demonstrate how it comes alive with color! I could argue, by the way, that the ratio between sketching and coloring is probably 1:2, where for every 1 hour of sketching you’d do 2 hours of coloring, but that’s my personal and very unprofessional assessment. It differs from one artist to another. So don’t take my word for it!

Would you look at that! Alive, ain’t it? But do keep in mind that solid plain colors alone won’t do the trick. Highlights and shadows are not crucial, not essential.. no they are not. Rather, they define the entire process from start to finish! Sometimes sketches are better left without color, why? Because the coloring job isn’t so good; it would ruin the sketch. Other times the black-and-white feel simply speaks louder, so it really depends on the theme of the drawing.
Another very important element is details. The more detailed you are in a sketch, or coloring, the more refined and more alive it becomes. Paying attention to small details on the sword, inside the mouth, the cloth, the shadow, the socks, the physics of how clothes fold with movement, etc.. all of that translates into a better sketch. Of course, you might not notice any of that here, but that was for your information : )
I’m thinking I’d like to draw some of you, so do let me know if any of you is interested and what you’d like to be in the sketch.. go crazy ; )

This is dedicated to the people of Japan. You guys are role models in discipline and self-control. You are all Samurai.

Categories: Silent Strokes
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

