Home > Silent Laughs, Silent Strokes > Krispy Kreme: A Social Drama

Krispy Kreme: A Social Drama

Hey, everyone! Been away for quite a while, and I’m not quite back. It seems life just ‘knows’ I hate roller-coasters! Anyway..

So I woke up today, feeling a little weak and lightheaded, and decided I should have some vitamin D. Got in the car, with my wife and evil daughter, and headed to Marina Crescent. Sure enough, it was one of the best shots I made in months (years?). The breeze was refreshing, the sun was amazing, and seeing my daughter run around and waving at the sea and screaming in utter joy was absolutely priceless.

Then of course I thought I either smelled Doughnuts.. or Homer Simpson. And thank God it wasn’t Homer. So I walked into the double K, got some original glazed, sugar glazed, chocolate glazed, to name a few. As the jolly salesman was getting my stuff ready, I noted some really nice sketches hung up here and there. I really liked them. But there was one that caught my attention. Something was not right:

This is supposed to be a family, right? Well where in the world is the dad?! It’s a single mom driving the kids to the.. well they’re going somewhere.. but it’s a single mom! There is NOTHING wrong with a single mom driving her kids to some place fun, for a vacation, but this isn’t a soap opera. This isn’t a reality check. And this certainly is not a place to have your subliminal messages in the face of your customers! Maybe Krispy Kreme’s customers didn’t notice. But if I did, I’m sure someone else has.
Maybe you’re thinking: “well what’s the big deal?” – I’ll tell why it’s a big deal: it’s a big deal from a business/commercial point of view. If I was in charge of supervising this artwork for KK, I would without blinking reject this. What’s so hard in adding a dad in there and have a complete, happy, and loving family vacation? I mean.. I did it in less than 10 minutes!

Dear Krispy Kreme:

I enjoyed your delicious doughnuts. I fixed the wife’s sunglasses, got her her husband back, and wanted to save the tennis racket from falling off, but then I thought sometimes you just lose your racket, you know? Just don’t lose the father, please.

Much love,

Minstrel.

  1. December 26, 2011 at 11:52 am

    Great to see you posting again. It been a long time.

    • December 31, 2011 at 8:04 pm

      Thanks, Bader! The cost of having a highly demanding job 😦 Oh well.. Thanks again for commenting! Happy New Year, buddy!! πŸ˜€

  2. AudreyS
    January 3, 2012 at 10:17 am

    I have one thing to say (or maybe three)! OCD!!! Temporarily!!! πŸ˜‰

    But i like your re-rendition of the Smithsonian Artifact. (i think)

    • January 4, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      OCD! Well… can’t argue there… Some have told me that before, and I’m starting to believe it. Thank you for your kind words! (I think! ;))

  3. January 4, 2012 at 3:12 am

    Hi sir! I was one of the lucky employee in KK who welcomed you that time, i sure you remember? Lucky, because you mentioned US in your blog. I mean you wrote an interesting post regarding a portrait in which even me have not noticed that something’s not right. What a shame for an employee who was working @ KK for five years and didn’t even tried to analize that work. Maybe, because i didn’t care? Maybe, because It’s just the natural me, who’s not fan of sketches? Well, then, maybe if it’s a song I would surely notice what is wrong on that piece, but it’s not. Anyhow, I really appreciate you sir and really wanted to thank you for this. It’s really interesting, splendid, outstanding and worthy of reading. Until here sir, thank you again and God bless you and your family. See you on your next visit!! – mark anthony

    • January 4, 2012 at 12:38 pm

      Mark Anthony! What’s going on, buddy πŸ™‚ A big hello to the most cheerful meeter-greeter at Krispy Kreme, Kuwait! You are very right in saying that usually people notice things that they relate to and know something about. I would sub-consciously be drawn to analyze a work of art, because that’s the gene I was born with! You can do the same with music (maybe you’re a natural-born musician!)

      But don’t say that you should have noticed that sketch. Your job is to make the greatest doughnuts in Kuwait, and believe you me, you are an amazing salesperson, and your attitude towards your customers is just as important as anything else in the world!

      You’re the reason I like Krispy Kreme at Marina Mall now πŸ˜‰

      God bless you, and HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

  4. January 4, 2012 at 3:14 am

    (sorry for the grammar) πŸ™‚

    • January 4, 2012 at 12:38 pm

      Don’t worry about it, MAGV πŸ˜‰

  5. January 4, 2012 at 3:16 am

    Happy New Year!!! πŸ™‚

    • January 4, 2012 at 12:39 pm

      Next time I’m there, GIVE ME FREE DOUGHNUTS!! πŸ˜€ Happy 2012, bro!

  6. ailine condeza
    January 7, 2012 at 12:28 am

    I have an inkling why dad is missing in the picture…he’s an overseas worker! just like most of the KK male staff πŸ™‚ Btw im a previous KK staff also.

    • January 7, 2012 at 5:09 pm

      Hahaha πŸ™‚ very true. It might actually be true! These days, many people work overseas, it’s just the cost of globalization. But that’s a savvy remark, Ailine πŸ™‚ Good one! Cheers to all KK employees!

  7. August 19, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    Hi Sir how are you? I hope you’re doing great.. It’s Mark from Krispy Kreme Marina. I hope you still remember me.. I got back to you because I wanted to share something that you might be interested in. I found an online business that I joined last April, the product is what we called SUPREME WEALTH LIBRARY which offers many life transforming ebooks, videos, fonts, scripts, templates that are growing continously. Most of which are very useful to marketers. So, I thought of sharing it to you because you might like it.. You can check it on my own unique website that was given to me when I purchased the Library for only 55$ http://supremewealthalliance.com/id/index.php?ref=markanthonyviscara.. I would love to hear your comment about this.. You can ask me anytime sir..thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

