Head

 

  1. AudreyS
    January 3, 2012 at 9:47 am

    Audrey likes this!
    its verrrry…… wats the word……. unorthodox!! 😉
    And thats what i like about it!! Coz I agree!!!
    Books cant give you everything! Observance & experience counts for a lot in terms of “real” knowledge today. (in my opinion)
    Having said that though, I still do enjoy a good book!! Old or new!!
    So, my advice is, do not leave the literal literature (be it academic or not) altogether!! It still stimulates the brain!

    • January 4, 2012 at 12:56 pm

      Yes it is unorthodox. That’s exactly what I wanted the sketch to be as well. Of course you can’t throw academic learning out the window, I agree. But I guess a movie like In Good Company kinda gives a hint as to the difference between Experience Knowledge and Academic Knowledge. You can know every business/technical lingo and terminology there is in the world, but it all boils down to what you do to get something done. And that takes special skill.

      Appreciate your advice! Will keep it close at heart! But maybe I was directing the message to those (myself included) who seek to look at an orthodox world in a very unorthodox way… if that makes any sense…

      Thanks for posting, Audi 😉

  2. Katie
    February 13, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    I love this, Minstrel. It relates perfectly to my experience in Egypt. I read hundreds of books and articles in preparation for my research here, but I’ve learned volumes more from my conversations with Egyptians. And I dare say that what they have taught me is more important than anything I read in a book.

    • February 13, 2012 at 9:38 pm

      Katie,

      You are absolutely right. What really provoked me was the fact that we spend years and years in schools, colleges and universities burrying our faces in books that we probably won’t ever need to read if it weren’t for grades and degrees.

      I truly believe that real knowledge is the collective information from real experiences that can only be gained from working with and talking to people.

      Thank you for your comment, Katie! And make the best out of your stay in Egypt!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

